top of page

Music Review: You can get Very little Goodbyes as a result of Sophia

I love to take into account myself someone with very good musical taste (obviously who doesn't), and I am an individual who friends will consult if they are looking for something new to listen to, so I was thinking writing an evaluation could be something I possibly could do no problem. The truth is, usually when I am suggesting stuff for other people to listen to, I have some idea what they are into and I will just get rid of suggestions centered on that knowledge.


I'm sitting here right now rocking the album I'm planning to examine and it's occurring if you ask me this is going to be harder than I initially thought. After all I honestly don't really learn how to start describing music, I'm lacking creative adjectives. I will sit here and listen to the and I realize that *I* want it, and I possibly could choose many people who'd want it based on their tastes, but just sitting here trying to explain what's great about it is proving difficult.


I guess I need to stop stalling and just dive in and give it my best shot right?


The album is named "There Are No Goodbyes" and it's by way of a group called Sophia. Rummaging around within my sack of adjectives and struggling for an explanation, I think I'd go with melancholy. Don't let the album title fool you, there isn't a whole lot of optimism coursing through many of the tracks. The majority of the songs on this album are filled with heartache (in fact it's the title of track 8), which I think attracts the hopeless romantic in me to the album, since being a hopeless romantic means nearly perpetual heartache. Even the title track, which will be relatively upbeat, is actually about saying goodbye and trying to keep a stiff upper lip. That said "There Are No Goodbyes" (Track 1), Dreaming (Track 4) and Signs (Track 7) are probably my three songs off the album. I truly feel just like music is an expression of emotion Music Reviews. Good music must be overflowing with emotion, even if the emotions being conveyed certainly are a bit of a downer, as could be the case with this album. If music doesn't make you are feeling *something*, you'll need to listen to something else.


Now I need to try getting down seriously to being a bit more descriptive again. I'm likely to go ahead and say it again, melancholy (just because it's a great word). I am likely to call this Alt. Rock, because that's a great catch-all term that doesn't require me to place a lot of thought in to a classification. It's all pretty down-tempo, lots of classical guitar on all the tracks and numerous them even throw some strings to the mix to keep the sombre mood. If you are trying to find something to listen to as you down a field of wine, relax to the fetal position and cry you to ultimately sleep, this really is it! Really though, you don't need to be feeling depressed to savor this album (and playing it isn't likely to instantly maybe you have opting for the razor-blades either, even if that's another track title), it's just really rich, emotional music. It's not super over-produced either, which I think adds to the emotional qualities this album has. If you are trying to find something with phat beats, lots of Autotune, or really uptempo pop-y melodies (which I am also a huge fan of), then move along as there's nothing to see here.


The album is truly a double disc, the fist disc being a studio album and the second disc being live stuff from the "Valentine's Day Sessions" ;.There are a couple tracks that appear on both discs however the live album does supply some new tracks and the commentary through the set is in keeping with the sense of dejection lots of the songs portray. You can grab it from Amazon for around $30 (if this indicates pricey don't forget it's a double-disc, and in addition it is an IMPORT which are always a bit more expensive).

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page